Wisdom I’m taking with me to Uganda

July 31, 2009

This is combination of advice, wisdom, verses, and quotes I have compiled over the last 6 months. They will greet me every morning in Uganda as they will be at my bedside guiding me and helping me develop an understanding of where I am and where my focus should be.

We find fulfillment in doing

Africans find fulfillment in being

Therefore, be patient to a point where you can learn from them

Listen first and a lot and ask specific questions showing that you want to learn

Don’t try and give them the answers, set-up guide rails to help lead them to the answer

You are there to contribute, not to fix

Become the best watcher

Love to listen

The most basic need is human contact

Know what questions to ask – evaluate the situation

The leader values have to be the follower values

Human beings are to be understood, not to be mastered

Appreciate frame of reference

Have some idea of where you are, have some idea of where you want to be

How do others perceive you?

Be light hearted, don’t take things to seriously as long as the job is getting done well

Be a good listener, genuinely care about the people around you

Success seems to be connected with action. Successful men keep moving. They make mistakes, but they don’t quit.

Conrad Hilton

Its not hard to make a decision when you know what your values are.

Roy Disney

Confidence is contagious. So is lack of confidence.

Vince Lombardi

“On the plains of hesitation lie the blackened bones of countless millions… who at the dawn of victory lay down to rest, and in resting died.”

Adlai E. Stevenson

We often judge others by their actions and ourselves by our intentions

Impress from a distance, impact up close

“but he’s already made it plain how to live, what to do, what God is looking for in men and women. it’s quite simple: do what is fair and just to your neighbor, be compassionate and loyal in your love, and don’t take yourself too seriously – take God seriously.” – Micah 6:8

So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised. For in just a very little while, “He who is coming will come and will not delay.  But my righteous one will live by faith.  And if he shrinks back, I will not be pleased with him.” But we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who believe and are saved.  Hebrews 10:35-39

We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may be revealed in our mortal body. So then, death is at work in us, but life is at work in you. It is written: “I believed; therefore I have spoken.” With that same spirit of faith we also believe and therefore speak, because we know that the one who raised the Lord Jesus from the dead will also raise us with Jesus and present us with you in his presence. All this is for your benefit, so that the grace that is reaching more and more people may cause thanksgiving to overflow to the glory of God. 2 Corinthians 4:8-18

Where there is no vision, the people perish – Proverbs 29: 18

See to it then that the light within you is not darkness – Luke 11:35

My religious belief teaches me to feel as safe in battle as in bed. God has fixed the time for my death. I do not concern myself about that, but to always be ready, no matter when it may overtake me. If men truly lived like this, then all men could live equally brave.
Gen. Stonewall Jackson

Pride is a personal commitment. It is an attitude which separates excellence from mediocrity – William Blake

The confident still learn where the arrogant know all

It were not best that we should all think alike; it is difference of opinion that makes horse races – Mark Twain

From Theodore Roosevelt’s “Citizenship in a Republic,” Speech at the Sorbonne, Paris, April 23, 1910

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; because there is not effort without error and shortcomings; but who does actually strive to do the deed; who knows the great enthusiasm, the great devotion, who spends himself in a worthy cause, who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement and who at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly. So that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat.”

“There are two things that I want you to make up your minds to: first, that you are going to have a good time as long as you live – I have no use for the sour-faced man – and next, that you are going to do something worthwhile, that you are going to work hard and do the things you set out to do.”

“You have brains in your head.
You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself
Any direction you choose.
You’re on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the guy who’ll decide where to go!”

Dr. Suess

Dave Eggers:

The thing is, I really like saying yes. I like new things, projects, plans, getting people together and doing something, trying something, even when it’s corny or stupid. I am not good at saying no. And I do not get along with people who say no. When you die, and it really could be this afternoon, under the same bus wheels I’ll stick my head if need be, you will not be happy about having said no. You will be kicking your self about all the no’s you’ve said. No to that opportunity, or no to that trip to Nova Scotia or no to that night out, or no to that project or no to that person who wants to be naked with you but you worry about what your friends will say.

No is for wimps. No is to live small and embittered, cherishing the opportunities you missed because they might have sent the wrong message.

… What matters is not the perception, nor the fashion, not who’s up and who’s down, but what someone has done and if they meant it. What matters is that you want to see and make and do, on as grand a scale as you want, regardless of what the tiny voices of tiny people say. Do not be critics, you people, I beg you. I was a critic and I wish I could take it all back because it came from a smelly and ignorant place in me, and spoke with a voice that was all rage and envy. Do not dismiss a book until you have written one, and do not dismiss a movie until you have made one, and do not dismiss a person until you have met them. It is a load of work to be open-minded and generous and understanding and forgiving and accepting, but, that is what matters. What matters is saying yes.

I say yes, and Wayne Coyne says yes, and if that makes us the enemy, then good, good, good. We are evil people because we want to live and do things. We are on the wrong side because we should be home, calculating which move would be the least damaging to our downtown reputations. But I say yes because I am curious. I want to see things. I say yes when my high school friend tells me to come out because he’s hanging with Puffy. A real story, that. I say yes when Hollywood says they’ll give me enough money to publish a hundred different books, or send twenty kids through college. Saying no is so boring.

And if anyone wants to hurt me for that, or dismiss me for that, for saying yes, I say Oh do it, do it you, finally, finally, finally.

Dave Eggers

3 Responses to “Wisdom I’m taking with me to Uganda”

  1. Michael L. Harrison Says:

    All good! I’ll add one:

    “He who seeks good finds goodwill, but evil comes to him who searches for it.”
    – Proverbs 11:27

  2. Bill Harrison Says:

    5:30 on Sunday Morning here in Arkansas,and I guess your last day at home. I think Mae is going to try to call you later this afternoon but I want to wish you good luck and tell you good-by this morning. You – like I had, have had short stints away from home so it’s not as if you are leaving for the first time – But it is going to be a long way off, for an extended time, and not free to come home when you please.

    My mind keeps going back to early morning and train whistles as Stillwell OK. was my jumping off place from leaving home. Thank God you are a more stable person than I was, and we are looking forward to continuing to hear great things about you. I am proud to let people know that you are my grandson.

    This “blog” is all new to me,but assume that you will use it as a log or journal and we wll be able to check into your website to see what’s going on.

    Love
    Grand-dad Harrison

  3. Tim Jahn Says:

    Wow, my little travel buddy is all grown up. Hey there David, I just recently caught wind of your upcoming adventure, well I guess by now you’re off and running with it. I’m impressed and inspired, but not at all surprised by your maturity, commitment and spiritual depth. I would wish you luck but with your deep relationship with God, you don’t need luck, you have something far bigger and more powerful. I look forward to hearing more about this chapter in your life. Tim Jahn

Leave a Reply

